Ravings

Year of Consolidation

Despite listening to Cortex for many years, I've never really bought into the yearly themes that Grey and Myke espouse.

However, I'm belatedly labelling 2023 as the Year of Foundation. Without purposely setting out to, I've managed to start working on several different aspects of my life, which I'm hoping to build on in 2024.

Many a time have I spent a 31st December doing things for "the lat time", with a plan to go cold turkey once the clock strikes midnight. So it makes a nice change to not have any new year's resolutions this year; I'm simply planning to keep doing the things I've already started and push them further. Hence the Year of Consolidation.

Health ๐Ÿ’ช

I've been far more active in 2023 than I have in the past several years and I'm hoping to have an even more healthy 2024. This goes for exercise as well as (less un)healthy eating!

Kids ๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐Ÿ‘งโ€๐Ÿ‘ฆ

I've always spent a lot of time with my kids, but as my eldest starts getting dangerously close to her teens I'm even more conscious that there'll soon come a time where she'll have more fun things to do than hang out with her old man โ˜น๏ธ.

Wife โค๏ธ

Despite what you may see on Instagram, a happy marriage takes a lot of work. Like every relationship, we've had our ups and downs, but as our kids get older we're finally starting to get more time to spend on/with each other.

Movies/TV/Books/Games ๐ŸŽฎ

I did quite well with movies and TV this year, but I'd like to get through a few more books and games in 2024.

Writing ๐Ÿ–Š๏ธ

I've made a slow by steady start posting here in 2023. I'd like to be posting at least once a month next year, and ideally twice.

Work ๐Ÿข

Whilst I enjoy my work, I'm lucky to be at a stage in life where I'm happy where I am in my career and with standing still for a while. Moving up is no longer my priority and we're so fortunate to be comfortable enough to be in this position. Work has always been the priority that eats into everything else above, and I'm hoping to change that in 2024.

Whatever your plans are for 2024, I wish you the best of luck in fulfilling them ๐Ÿคž.


Recent posts